Home > Windows > Who Stole My WIndows Start menu – FIXED

Who Stole My WIndows Start menu – FIXED


I could be at risk of becoming stuck in my ways but I really find the metro style of Windows 8(s) unproductive.  Ah yes, you can search for an app – provided you know its name (and there in lies the problem).  8.1 was going to improve on 8 by having a start menu (make a mental note to fully read release notes) however, this did not revoke to my beloved win 7 start menu (with a program menu) –> that’s right, there is no program folder!

Perhaps the best thing about 8.1 was the ability to start windows directly to the desktop – but where’s my real (fully expandable) start menu? … this is what I want.

So, if you want to run win 8.xx revert try Classic Shell (http://www.classicshell.net/).  It is great – no two ways about it.  It gives the power of win 8 – with the ease of win 7 (well easy for me anyway)!

  1. December 16, 2013 at 5:44 am

    When I started working with Windows 8, I tried several tools and chose Start8 (http://www.stardock.com/products/start8/). I don’t remember what was the issue with Classic Shell, but probably it has been improved in this time and now it is also equally good. Nice to know that there is a free alternative!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 228 other followers

